General thoughts and rambling.

Life has been. . . hectic.
First off, the convention back in June went great. I had a fantastic time, met some new folks, and caught up with friends I don’t see often. Since then I’ve started working three jobs. It’s not been easy. The last three weeks have been double crazy as I’ve been working full days at one job for six days a week. I haven’t had much of a chance for art because of that. I haven’t had much time for ANYTHING lately. Now things are calming down a bit and I wanted to get some thoughts down before things get crazy again.

Funnily enough, I’m going to another convention this weekend. I’ll be at the River City Comic Expo in Little Rock, Arkansas on August 29th in artists alley, table 1617 with Kit. Should be fun and I may get to meet Gail Simone. I’m still getting the mental con crud, but I’m holding myself together better this time.

In other news. . .

The sun is shining, the temperature has dropped to tolerable levels and it’s been really pleasant outside. Naturally, I’ve been miserable. It was this time last year that my dad was heading into his final days. I remember the constant trips to the emergency room, tailing an ambulance as they rush him to CMMC in a desperate attempt to prolong his life for just a little longer. This is actually the anniversary of home hospice starting their service with us. In less than a month he’d be in the facility and within a week he’d be gone. Now when the long light comes through the trees in the afternoon as I drive home I can feel myself start to tear up and come apart. I remember trying to reassure him that things were going to be ok. Those long periods of holding his hand and just trying to be there.
Yesterday, on the way home, I was passed by a white 1977 Ford F100 just like he used to have. I won’t lie. I broke down right then and there and had to wait till I could hold it together to drive home.

So yeah. That’s where I am right now. I’ll most more frequently and try to get back in the habit of being around. You guys stay safe and try not to get horribly burned to death by dragons or anything.

2 Comments

  1. I have my sword and shield always ready in the event of a surprise dragon attack, thanks for the reminder!

    So darn busy!! Hopefully things will settle down a bit. Nothing wrong with getting emotional, it is all part of the grieving and healing process.

    Take care!

Leave a Reply

