The Pain Elemental

I think the absolute worst part of getting older is the pain. Not emotional or mental pain, I mean the fact that there are very few days where I don’t wake up hurting in some way. My back, knees, ankles, hips, you name it. Even my neck has started getting in on the action. Some pains are just a weird little twinge when I do something I’ve never done physically. Some are old friends I’ve known for years.

Most of the pains I have I don’t really notice all that much any more. They just sort of slow me down. I can’t run like I used to. I can’t do a lot of strenuous work. It’s just something that’s a part of me. When something new develops it’s like hearing a knocking noise in your car for the first time.
“Now where the hell did THAT come from?!”

It’s really just a stead process of watching yourself fall apart over the years. I just consider myself a collector of aches. Eventually I’ll just stop being human and become a pain elemental. Actually. . . that would be kinda cool.

Leave a Reply

