Autumn

There’s something about autumn that wakes up my soul. Maybe it’s the drop in temperature. Maybe it’s what I call the “long light” as it comes through bare branches and gives us it’s meager warmth. Maybe I’m just really glad it isn’t sweltering outside and and I want to run around like a kid again.

I remember being outside once on the day fall well and truly started. I must have been 11 or 12 at the time and was playing in the front yard. All of my friends had moved from the neighborhood and I was alone and trying to entertain myself. It was cloudy and warm and the trees were still green. I was wearing a t-shirt and shorts (like ya do) and spinning in circles the way only a kid can and for reasons only a kid would understand. It was windy and I liked the slight break from the heat.
Suddenly, the wind got cooler very quickly. I stopped spinning and stared east in the direction of the wind. I don’t know what I thought I might see, but it was the only direction I could think to look. In a matter of seconds the summer was over at it was suddenly in the mid 50’s. I didn’t rush inside just yet. I stood there for a bit and marveled at what had just happened. The season had changed right there with me watching. I knew then I probably would never experience it again and I swore I’d remember for as long as I lived.

I always will. . .

Leave a Reply

