Vocal

filmandtv

 

So I’ve got this thing about voice actors. I love trying to figure out just who did what voice. When I was a kid it was a lot easier. Almost every character was going to be Don Messick, Mel Blanc, Daws Butler, June Foray, or Frank Welker. Other names started entering that list of course. Rob Paulsen stands out no matter what he does. Cam Clark has this smooth voice that I can pick out in a crowd. Townsend Coleman has been the Tick since before he even started as that character. Maurice LaMarche blows everyone away with his range. Don’t even get me started on Tress McNeil and Tara Strong.

A lot of people refer to this group of actors and their other talented friends as their childhood and with good reason. They grew up hearing these folks. So did I. I wanted to know the people though. Not just the characters. Thanks to Rob Paulsen’s podcast, Talkin’ Toons, I have and frankly I wanted to join them. The idea of such a close nit group fascinates and attracts me like a moth to a flame.

At this stage in my life the likelihood of that happening is pretty darned small. Fortunately, with the internet I can start doing some small time voices acting. Recently a friend came to me on Facebook and said he heard I do a pretty good Shaggy from Scooby Doo. I won’t lie. I do. It’s not exactly Cassie Kasem, but it’s pretty good. The only thing I was worried about was that I’d only ever said one line. “Zoiks, Scooby! We gotta get outta here!” I had no idea if I could actually do other dialogue. Well, I could it turns out. I also managed a passable version of Scooby’s laugh. He also asked me to do the announcer and decided to give the local law enforcement office’s line a shot.

Well, long story short, I provided all but one voice in the final short and I’m pretty darned pleased with myself and how it turned out. I’m hoping to do more of these and I’m kind of hoping this leads to some professional voice work of some form. I don’t know though. We’ll see.

If you’re interested in seeing the short, it’s available here.

Leave a Reply

