Diabeetus

personalbanner

 

So, I’m a diabetic. I have Type 2 diabetes and I haven’t been taking very good care of myself over the years and it’s no one’s fault but my own. Yesterday my blood sugar was at 241 and I freaked right the hell out. Well, it’s time to get serious again. I’ve got to cut out fried foods, most beef, all pork, a crap ton of sodium and starches.

Yes, I need to do this for my health, but let me explain that most of my diet until yesterday consisted of fast food burgers, every form of potato dish known, and fried things that you probably normally wouldn’t fry. I’m basically going to have to completely change my eating habits with a very few exceptions.

Hummus and guacamole are still on the menu. Sushi with brown rice and nothing fried is doable. Soups are right out. People have suggested low sodium versions of some foods. Those people have either never tasted a low sodium food or they hate me. Seriously, most of the stuff they make for diabetics taste like unsalted butt. This is the situation I find myself in.

Another thing I didn’t realize was just how much salt they put in processed foods. It’s like a whole salt lick in there. What the heck.

Anyway, I just needed to vent for a minute about the end the days of wine and roses for my eating habits. See you guys next week.

4 Comments

  1. My grandfather is on a restrictive low sodium diet and suuuucks because he doesn’t like a lot of things that are low in sodium (such as hummus and many vegetables) before we even get to the crappy low-sodium versions of things. I’m not here with any suggestions, just commiseration. And the hope that you are able to find things that you like, that are good for you, easily available, and not expensive.

Leave a Reply

