Televised Identity Crisis

televisionvisual

Let me go on record as saying I don’t watch a lot of television these days. There are a lot of reasons for it, but honestly it boils down to the crap they pass off as entertainment. The little I do watch has revealed an interesting trend. Channels that have forgotten who they are.

MTV’s an easy target. They altered their logo a few years ago to cut the words “Music Television” and I can’t help but feel that sums up what they are now. They aren’t music related any more and so they cut that part of themselves off. They went from music to “Jersey Shore” and “16 and Pregnant”. I’m not going to launch into why these are terrible shows. I’m just going to restrain myself and point out they they aren’t music.

A&E is probably one of the biggest offenders in the “We don’t remember what we are any more” department. When A&E started it was Arts & Entertainment. It played fascinating programming and I would watch it on Sunday mornings quite often. They, and the Discovery Channel, were my two favorites.
Now, I have no idea what the hell A&E is. They’ve got Honey Boo Boo, Storage Wars, Bates Motel, and Duck Dynasty where they used to show educational programming and ballet. I think it’s time they change the name of the channel to S&C. Shit & Crap.

Another big offender of focus shifting is SyFy (pronounce See Fee, I believe). We didn’t get The Sci-Fi Channel in my area until well after it started becoming whatever it is now. They cancelled MST3k shortly after we got Sci-Fi and Farscape soon followed. The channel claims they changed their name so it could be copyrighted. It think they changed it because they knew they were moving to a different market. Sure they throw us a bone every now and again with the likes of Eureeka or Wharehouse 13, but they cancel them and show more wrestling and “SyFy Originals” like “Sharknado”. It’s a load of crap now.

Don’t get me started on Comedy Central. When was the last time they showed something funny? (See what I did there?)

The point I’m getting at here is that all these channels have lost their focus. Somewhere along the way SyFy forgot sci-fi, A&E forgot arts and entertainment, and MTV forgot music. Where will it all end?

Leave a Reply

