Free Comic Book Day Recap

So this week is going to be a lot of posts about Free Comic Book Day and my adventure to the coast for it. Later this week I’ll get a Vlog edited of it, but for now here’s a general run down.

I’ve been going to conventions and FCBD events since around 2008 starting with Megacon in Florida. The FCBD things I’ve been to here in town were never really anything to write home about. Very little money was made, not too many people came through and it we usually cut out early. This was by far the most fun and awesome event I’ve ever been too.

I’ve had mostly the same sketches in my binder since 2010. Occasionally I’d do a new drawing for someone and it would sell right off, but for the most part all my art has just sat there. Well, this weekend I sold all of what I call my “A-Game” pieces and most of my “B-Game” pieces. I actually have to refill my book now! It blew my friggin’ mind! Kit had tons of commissions too!

The best part of the whole thing though was the people. I got to see Jeff, Tiny, and Cami again. Steven Butler was there and we talked video game comics since he works on Sonic the Hedgehog for Archie Comics. We talked a bit about his newer art style. It’s got a very Bruce Timm feeling to it. The guy has so much talent it’s nuts!

Steve Scott was also there completing my collection of comic artists named “Steve”. Steve’s work is also amazing. We joked around a little and we talked about his William Shatner “Rock-it, man!” print. To give you some idea of how awesome this guy is, he gave me a free print of it for my friend Austin when I told him he owned that album. Hell, I even got a hug out of the guy!

Then there’s Andy. Andy and I have been friends for quite some time now and when we get together at events it’s like an old school comedy duo. Lots of jabs and one-liners. Lots of me hitting him with my hat. We have a ball. The only downside is that I talk so much that I’m nearly hoarse by the end of the day! Wouldn’t trade it for the world though!

There’s tons of other people I met and saw like Pedro and Bryan King and Suave Maurice, but I’m running out of steam so I’ll let the vlog speak for itself later this week.

So yeah. I guess what I’m saying is I’ll be going back next year. Possibly sooner just to hang out!
Well, that’s all for now. See ya in a few days!

Leave a Reply

