Pipe Dreams.

I should be asleep, but I’ve got things running through my mind. Some friends and I were discussing the recently announced coming closure of Heroes and Dreams, one of our local comic shops, at the end of the month and we got to talking. After a lot of discussion, we’ve almost gotten ourselves convinced to open a geek shop. Comics, RPG, manga, card games. All that fun stuff. Between the three of us, we have the skills to maintain a business. Hell, I’ve managed enough stores to know how it works. The problem is I’m terrified of us taking that step. Jackson is a tough place to deal in geekery. Heroes and Dreams and Java Ink going under are proof of that. Still. It’s just the discussion stages right now.

In other news, it looks like I AM going to start a podcast. SMAGcast may record as early as next week so I’ll probably need to start a new wordpress site to act as a home for it. Once again, general geekery would be the focus. Four guys discussing different topics. Movies, television, role playing games. I’ll post more info as it starts to happen.

It’s funny. I have trouble motivating myself lately into doing the comics, but once I sit down and get started I can’t stop myself. They’re fun to do again, it’s just hard to sit myself down. It’s ridiculously easy to do a vlog or a podcast compared to comics. Very little prep time and what have you.

That’s about all I’ve got for now. Expect the updates to be two to three times a week as compared to daily now. Blogging every day is good for getting readers, but it DOES cause you to run out of things to talk about. I’d rather just cut back a bit and have interesting posts than have a bad post every day. See you in a couple of days.

2 Comments

  1. You’re starting a podcast! That’s great news! Podcasting is a lot of fun, and like you said, ridiculously simple. I think every geek, at one time or another, has had the dream of opening up a comic book/gaming/card game store. I know I’ve certainly discussed it with friends of mine. Honestly, I’m giving you my best, and I hope you guys make it happen! Maybe we could have you as a guest sometime on The Pure Mood Podcast and chat geeky nonsense together. Love the vlogs and the posts, and I’ll miss reading your thoughts daily, but sometimes you gotta cut back.

Leave a Reply

