The Fourth Age

Last night I reached the end of a two decade long journey. I finished A Memory of Light and with it The Wheel of Time. It was bitter-sweet as a friend said. It was satisfying ending to me, but many many friends in that series did not make it to the end. Many did. None the less, the journey is over.

I’m not sure how I feel about that. I’m satisfied with the end. It worked. It fit. It made sense. But it was AN ending. A hugh chunk of my life is now over. Yes, I can go back and relive it any time I want, but the actual trip is over.

There’s even still a part of me wondering when the next book is coming out. Waiting on the next WoT book has just been something you do. You curse the delays, you grumble about the time between books, but you freak out when they get here and read it in a marathon session and then you wait some more. Gonna be a long wait this time.

More importantly, I think that the end of the book can serve as a new beginning for us Wheel of Time fans. This IS the dawn of a new age. The series is over and we can begin to make a new world for ourselves because, as Mr. Jordan wrote, there are neither beginnings nor endings to the turning of the wheel of time, but it was A beginning. . .

Leave a Reply

