A Memory of Light

In high school I was introduced for the first time to Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time series. A friend was borrowing the first book from his uncle and convinced me to give it a shot. I wasn’t much of a reader, but this same person got me to read Douglas Adams so I decided to give it a shot. I fell in love right then and there. The problem was that I hit the fifth book and suddenly I lost interest. It wasn’t something I wanted to be reading so I quit.

Well, a few years ago Robert Jordan passed away and I felt bad. I know they had someone to finish the books and that was ok, but I suddenly missed my friends from the Two Rivers. I wanted to know what happened. I didn’t do anything about it though.

In 2010 I was on my way back from Megacon in Florida when I realized I didn’t want to read any of the books I had brought with me. It had been a boring flight from Orlando to Baltimore thanks to Southwest’s weird-ass flight schedule so I found myself wandering around the Baltimore airport. I wandered into a book store and there it was. The Eye of the World by Robert Jordan. It’d been many years since I’d read it and I decided to give it another go. It was just as great as I’d remembered. Before I knew it I’d burned through the entire series and then I read it again. I read it one more time last year so I’d be up to date when A Memory of Light, the last book in the series, comes out this month.

It’s rather a sad thing, really. This month, a twenty two year journey comes to an end for me and for millions of other readers out there. We’ve been travelling along side Rand, Mat, Perrin, Egwene, Nyneve, and the rest of the crew for years and frankly I don’t know what life will be like without that anticipation of another book in the series. I’ve joked with my friends saying “I guess we need to find something else for our lives to be about” but I’m not sure if I’m joking or not. People have tried to suggest A Game of Thrones, but to be honest, I haven’t liked the little I’ve seen or read of it. The Wheel of Time had characters that I WANTED to be invested in. The best part was they usually survived.

So here’s to Robert Jordan, Brandon Sanderson, and the characters of the Wheel of Time. Light illumine you.

Leave a Reply

