Forest for the Trees

Sometimes we forget things. We get so used to them that we stop thinking of them as something special and we just take them for granted. I’ve been doing that with my comics lately and it needs to change.

I’ve been at this for a long time. Thirteen years this Christmas to be exact. Along the way my art has changed and developed and so have the tools and techniques I use. Somewhere along the way though things became routine. I stopped looking at is as real art since I do it all the time. The comics became a product. Desks. It’s like I was putting together desks on an assembly line and all the fun and challenge was gone. They were just something I did.

Recently, that’s started to change. I’m using new programs and new tools and that’s forced me to look at the comics in a new way for the first time in years. Not just the “all digital” thing that I keep going on about until people shove a gag in my mouth. I’m starting to look at pages and entire stories and think that maybe there are better ways to do them. It’s a great feeling.

It really is a “couldn’t see the forest for the trees” situation. I got so busy just doing it that I forgot WHAT I was doing and WHY I was doing it. I think next year could lead to some really exciting things for my work. Assuming the world doesn’t end tomorrow. đŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

