That time of year.

Christmas. I always used to love Christmas as a child. I could lie and say it wasn’t the presents, but on some level it was. It was also the sense of occasion. The togetherness. As much of a wreck as my mom could make Christmas, she definitely knew how to make it something. We had Christmas dinner and opened presents and all the things families do at this time of year.

After my mom died that sort of stopped. I still put up the tree and a wreath on the door, but it’s just sort of a gesture. When I get the presents under the tree though, it feels different. Even if none of them are for me, I feel better. It’s like the holidays have finally gotten here.

I don’t normally say this, but I want to get out of the house this season and spend time with friends. I want to be with people. I want to be a part of something. Look out world. I’m comin’ for ya.

Leave a Reply

