Night What? What Vale?!

geekculture

 

Why is it always the fandom that ruins something for me?

So there’s the podcast that’s going called “Welcome to Nightvale” and the fandom has spread all over Tumblr. The little bit I’ve gathered from there and the SA Forums is that it’s like a public radio station in a Lovecraftian town. It sounded interesting so I added it to my list of things to check out.

Cut to about a week ago. I’m going through my tumblr feed and a shocking amount of the content is about something and I don’t know what it is. Well, it turns out it’s all Nightvale related, for some reason it all features Arby’s, and it all involves people dressing in silly clothes and trying to be creepy.

Now I don’t want to start complaining about fandom here, but I now have very little interest in listing to Nightvale. Anything that makes people that obsessed that quickly can’t be good. Even a couple of people I know that didn’t LIKE the podcast can’t stop listening to it. Personally, I’m thinking that this is just a tool of Nyarlathotep to try and drive mankind to madness and prepare us for when the stars are right.

Do I wish ill of the makers of “Welcome to Nightvale”? No. I wish them all the luck in the world. I’m just not going to listen and add another phrase to Tumblr savior to make sure I don’t get a dashboard full of Arby’s.

Leave a Reply

